

BURNLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL FULL COUNCIL

MECHANICS THEATRE

Tuesday, 23rd May, 2023

PRESENT

MEMBERS

Her Worshipful The Mayor (Cosima Towneley) in the Chair;

Councillors A Khan (Vice-Chair), A Anwar, L Ashworth, G Barton, G Birtwistle, M Brindle, C Briggs, S Chaudhary, S Cunliffe, A Fewings, S Graham, J Harbour, B Horrocks, A Hosker, M Hurt, S Hussain, J Inckle, K Ingham, M Ishtiaq, N Kazmi, S Kazmi, A Kelly, B Hughes, L Khan, A Lewis, G Lishman, M Lishman, S Lone, J McGowan, M Payne, A Raja, P Reynolds, C Sollis, M Steel, J Sumner, M Townsend, D Whitaker, A Wight and F Wild

OFFICERS

Mick Cartledge – Chief Executive

Lukman Patel – Chief Operating Officer

Rob Dobson – Head of Policy and Engagement

Paul Gatrell – Head of Housing & Development Control
Kate Ingram – Strategic Head of Economy and Growth

Howard Hamilton-Smith – Head of Finance and Property

Joanne Swift – Head of Streetscene

Catherine Waudby – Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Chris Gay – Governance Manager
Alison McEwan – Democracy Officer
Carol Eddleston – Democracy Officer
CJ Walmsley – Democracy Officer
David Bristow – Mayor's Officer
MJ Hindman – Graphic Designer
Paul Barlow – Graphic Designer

1 Appointment of Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Afrasiab Anwar and seconded by Councillor Sue Graham and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That Councillor Arif Khan be elected Mayor of the Borough for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

Full Council 23/05/2023 Page **1** of **2**

(County Councillor Cosima Towneley then vacated the Chair in favour of the Mayor).

His Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Arif Khan, then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as prescribed by law.

2 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Margaret Lishman and seconded by Councillor Sue Graham that the grateful thanks of the Council be extended to the retiring Mayor for the services rendered by her during the past Municipal Year.

On being put to the vote, it was

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY.

It was FURTHER RESOLVED that medallions be presented to County Councillor Cosima Towneley and her Consort Henry Towneley and Mayoresses Pailin Petchrlum and Melissa Wood, as a token of appreciation of their services to the Borough during the Municipal Year now ending.

County Councillor Cosima Towneley responded by reviewing the highlights of her period of office, thanking those who had helped her.

3 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

It was moved by Councillor John Harbour and seconded by Councillor Jeff Sumner and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY

That Councillor Shah Hussain be elected Deputy Mayor/Mayor Elect of the Borough for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Shah Hussain then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as prescribed by law.

4 Mayor's Communications

The Chief Executive, Mick Cartledge reported the following:

Mayor's 'At Home' - Tuesday 30th May 2023, 2:00pm - 4:00pm, Town Hall

The Mayor's Charity Dinner Dance to be confirmed.